India 5-PAISE (KM17)
India 5-PAISE (KM17)

India 5-PAISE (KM17) Asiatic Lions

Asiatic lions (aka Indian Lion, Persian Lion, Panthera leo persica) are a sub-species of lion that exist in a single population in India's Gujarat state. The image of the four Asiatic lions standing back to back are from the Ashoka Lion Capital (column top) dating back to around 250 BCE. This image of the capital was adopted as the official Emblem of India in 1950.

In 1957, India decimalized the rupee, and this 5 paise coin (minted from 1964 to 1966) replaced the original 5 naye-paise issue (KM16) because after seven years they no longer needed the "naye" prefix to indicate the new decimal system.


  • Diameter: 22 mm
  • Composition: Copper-Nickel
  • CAT#: KM17

Obverse Legend


Reverse Legend


All coin images in Daniel's Coin Zoo are from my personal collection. I collect, research, and personally photograph every coin displayed on this site. PLEASE do not take my images without permission.

If you would like to use any coin image you see, just ask meThank you.