India 5-NAYE-PAISE (KM16)

Asiatic Lions

Asiatic lions (aka Indian Lion, Persian Lion, Panthera leo persica) are a sub-species of lion that exist in a single population in India's Gujarat state. The image of the four Asiatic lions standing back to back are from the Ashoka Lion Capital (column top) dating back to around 250 BCE. This image of the capital was adopted as the official Emblem of India in 1950.

In 1957, India decimalized the rupee, and this is the first 5 naye-paise ("new" paise, I presume) coin in the series (minted from 1957 to 1963). Like many of India's coins, it is non-round.

22 mm
Catalogue #
Obverse Legend
Reverse Legend

All coin images in Daniel's Coin Zoo are from my personal collection. I collect, research, and personally photograph every coin displayed on this site. PLEASE do not take my images without permission. If you would like to use any coin image you see, just ask meThank you.